VAT - the status of you and your clients

Hi all - me again :slight_smile:

At this stage, this is more just out of curiosity, although in the future (very far down the line…) it might be more relevant.

1. How many of you are VAT registered?
    1a. Those of you who are, is it as legally you need to be or because you have chosen to be?

2. How many of your clients are VAT registered vs. those which aren’t?
    2a. Which industries are these each from?

As a newbie, I certainly have no legal requirement to being VAT registered, and I also think it unlikely this will change any time in the coming years (two young girls so can’t work every hour again, yet), but I read an article the other day which had a handful of benefits for volunteering for VAT. So it got me thinking.

Thanks all :grinning:

Adrienne,

You must register for VAT if your turnover exceeds a given amount, check with HMRC for the current rates - deliberatly not putting here incase people look at this in a different year to the one in which I am typing my reply! There are some potential advantages and disadvantages of registering for VAT:

At present the system operates as follows:

• Cannot charge/claim VAT until registered. (You can elect to be registered from the moment you start your business but it is not recommended.)
• There is a registration threshold and process to be followed
• You can voluntarily register (see note below)
• Specific payment dates
• Pre-registration VAT
• Calculating VAT quarterly
• Cash Accounting Scheme/Annual Accounting/Flat Rate Scheme
• Inspection

Note: There are some benefits of registering voluntarily, but equally potential disadvantages:

• Good for cash flow

• Credibility / Professionalism (seen as a bigger company)

• Reduces costs as VAT can be claimed back on supplies and equipment