Starting out - how do you share files & software to use

Hi All,

Am still in start up; am offering a VA service and a virtual project management service.

A really basic question here, I’m afraid…how do you share your files and receive them from your clients? I’m no techie but understand sending by email could easily compromise security. Would be really grateful if you would let me know what you use and first steps in acquiring it. So far I have MS Office and email.

Thanks v much,
Fran

Hi Fran

Email can be pretty secure - it depends what you are using… Most email providers will come with some kind of encryption/security settings and you can beef that up too if you are sending very sensitive stuff. There are a few reasons not to use freebie emails (see societyofvirtualassistants.c … -business/ )

It depends a bit on what you are doing but essentially you don’t want two people working on the same file at once and overwriting each other’s work… We use Smartsheet, other people will swear by Dropbox or SendThisFile. A lot will depend on how secure you need it and what you are actually doing with the files.

You can also use Google Docs which are stored online (And can be downloaded as MS Office), or Microsoft also has online versions of their Office software.

The advantage of this is that versions of documents are always up to date. Syncronised between your computer and your client’s computer. The disadvantage (and this the same with Dropbox, or any system that requires syncronisation between computers) is that you can only have one account for each computer (actually Dropbox will allow one business and one personal account), but if you have multiple clients, you can still do it, but you have to use the webpage for Dropbox, rather than accessing files through Windows Explorer (or the Mac equivalent if that’s what you’re using!).

That may be a bit muddled in explanation… happy to give it another try if you come back with a “Say what Ed?” response :slight_smile: