Starting a VA Business

Hi, I am just starting up and wondered whether I should register with HMRC as a Sole Trader or a Ltd company? Can you advise how you are set up?

I personally feel that unless you plan to work for major corporate or public organisations who need you to be a Ltd company … it’s much better to steer clear of the added accounting pressures involved in registering with Companies House.

I found that the gov.uk really made the differences clear and certainly helped me realise that as a sole trader I could do everything I needed to - including grow in the future - with my target audience.
https://www.gov.uk/set-up-self-employed
https://www.gov.uk/prepare-file-annual-accounts-for-limited-company

The only thing is, your brand is not protected (but then registering only gives you limited protection anyway). For that you need to trade mark it which I haven’t done yet as it cost £170 and then a yearly renewal fee if memory serves.

Hope that helps :slight_smile:

Hi there. I’m also just starting up and for me personally I felt being a Limited company was best.

Tbh, I didn’t do a huge amount of research but from what I did it seemed to suggest that financially Limited companies have more tax saving than sole trading (sometimes minimal mind), plus I’m more protected in terms of liability (ultimately it’s limited liability - it’s the business they go after and not me personally). When I spoke to my broker the other day, he was happier when I said I’d set up as a limited. I also felt it looked more professional and I might be taken more seriously. That’s of course not to say that anyone who is a sole trader isn’t that (!!!).

Very best of luck with what you choose. Maybe it’s a case of pros and cons for both and the right answer will be down to you personally.

Thank you for your input, appreciate it.

Thanks Adrienne - appreciate your input.

Definitely have a chat with an accountant about this - but usually for VAs, sole trader is the better set up.