Laptop recommendations

Hi everyone,

I am just setting up to start my journey as a VA (whilst working part time as an EA).

I am slowly geting there with my website and logo. Have read lots and am now at the point I need to start looking for a laptop (with Microsoft office packages) so I can really forge ahead with planning and budgeting.

Any recommendations for me would be really appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Jen

Have you got a budget in mind and are you needing it for anything else other than office work?

Hi Jen - congratulations on starting your journey!

I use an MS Surface laptop which suits me perfectly as it performs really well but is very lightweight at the same time. I have the full MS365 suite installed on it and it has never let me down yet!

I would really recommend using Computer Exchange as they will offer refurbed laptops which are just as good as new but for half the price. I’ve been using my current one for 4 years now and it’s still just as good as the day I bought it from them.

They rate their products from A to C - the A rating being as good as new and still in original packaging, B rating is as good as new but maybe some almost unnoticeable cosmetic blemishes and no original packaging and C being slightly more wear and tear but still in perfect working order. I always go for the B rating products as they are the best value and work just like a new product.

Good luck with everything! I started my VA about a year ago now and I finally launched in December and I’ve signed my first two clients already - it’s such an exciting journey :smiley:

Hi Jen - good luck with getting started!

I use an HP Envy - not cheap but I really rate it and I think it’s worth it. Mine had a burnt-out speaker at the start but I think that was just a very unlucky one-off and was easily fixed!!