Hi all - Newbie from Hampshire

:wave: Hello to you all,

I just wanted to pop on and introduce myself. I am currently in the process of setting up my VA business (for the second time).

I have worked in various admin/finance/event management roles over the last 15 years and I am now looking to use my skills to help others. I initially started to set up a VA business back in 2011 whilst taking a career break to raise my first two children. Timing was off due to a premature baby and a LOT of hospital appointments etc so it was put on a back burner. I am now in a place that I am able to fully commit to my business and I have to say I am very excited. It is something I have wanted to do for a very long time.

I plan to start out as a general VA focusing on administration, research and a bit of financial help. I am also studying BA (hons) in business management part time with the open university and hopefully this will help me find where why interests and strengths lie so that I can tailor my services in the future.

I look forward to getting to know you all.

Definitely trying to launch with a newborn is a bit over ambitious… Apart from anything else, my brain was foggy for about 18 months after both of my kids - I couldn’t get the right words and everything took WAY longer than it should. So many VAs launch when they are on maternity leave, and it’s almost setting themselves up to fail - it’s bloody tough.

Great that you’ve come back to the idea though - and also that experience should really help you focus on what you need to do, it’s not a negative thing.

Is there anything you think you’ll do differently this time?

@caroline nice to ‘meet you’. I have to admit that back in 2011 I was trying to rush into it all and that’s never a good thing. This time around I will most certainly be spending more time on creating my ‘brand’ and networking - things I was lacking in before.

Hi @Beckylouise,

Welcome to the forum,