Bookkeeping courses

Hello,

I’m thinking about adding bookkeeping to my services and I was wondering if anyone could recommend a distance learning course? Any general advice about bookkeeping would be very much appreciated.

I don’t have any bookkeeping experience but I have worked as an analyst for several years so I’m comfortable working with numbers.

Many thanks,

Briony

I’m no expert on this as it’s not something I do myself, but hopefully the more experienced VAs will jump in if I get this wrong:

There are two widely accepted ones ICB and AAT - membership of them will often include your MLR registration which is about £350ish/year without professional membership plus an initial registration fee of about the same. If you are only doing a very small amount of bookkeeping within a small VA business, there is an exemption but you still need to register with HMRC.

TBH if it’s not something you are planning on making a big part of your VA business, it’s a lot of hassle. You might be better to find a trusted bookkeeping VA who you can refer work onto, and hopefully they can refer some other stuff back to you.

@expedio @valueaddbiz - have I got that right???

I’m biased as I’m an Ambassador with Ideal Schools and promote better bookkeeping throughout the UK as part of my role.

Ideal Schools are a Glasgow based distance learning provider and offer both ICB and AAT courses. (I think you get a discount if you mention my name to Brian but not sue if that is still a thing). I qualified with ICB through the Ideal Schools route and I have also put my staff through their training. It works for us.

You are ALWAYS learning new things so factor in a lot of learning that you rarely get compensated for. This last year in particular has been a nightmare for Bookkeepers because there has been such a lot of non-chargeable time learning the new legislation changes to support clients during Covid-19.