Bookkeeping certification

Hi everyone!

I am new to this adventure and I am yet to officially go live with my business.
I was hoping to get some insight from those who offer bookkeeping services. As a practicing bookkeeper for the last 10 years, I have never been certified by a specific institution. I was wondering if anyone had any advice/recommendations…
Is it essential or just reassuring to potential clients? Are there certain institutes that are better known/reputable?

I noticed the following institute:

https://www.bookkeepers.org.uk/Membership/Become-a-Member/Become-a-Member-by-Exemption/

Any insider tips would be warmly welcomed!

I know I must be registered with HMRC re Money Laundering

Many Thanks
Colleen

Big disclaimer: I’m not a bookkeeper, but I’m sure the ones on here will keep me right!! (Guys - jump in if I get stuff wrong!)

Firstly because bookkeeping has a legal element, you either need to be certified by one of the governing bodies (ICB, ACCA etc) or register for Anti Money Laundering Regulations with HMRC. My understanding on the qualification by experience route is that it’s blooming difficult and you have to pass various exams. However registration with the governing bodies mean that they rubber stamp your registration, and also that you get access to various training and networking events through the year… The registration fees (I believe) are roughly equal to what you’d pay for MLR registration.

NB: You cannot advertise bookkeeping or perform bookkeeping functions without registration or licensing in place. HMRC define bookkeeping as being something which affects the recording of accounts, which means that if you load stuff onto a live system like Xero/Kashflow/Sage Online/Quickbooks online etc, you are performing bookkeeping/accountancy.